

News Release

College of Nursing and Health Professions Recognizes Top 2019 Graduating Students during Convocation of Scholars

05/06/2019

JONESBORO – The College of Nursing and Health Professions at Arkansas State University recognized its most outstanding graduating students during its annual Convocation of Scholars honors program, according to Dr. Susan Hanrahan, dean of the college.

Emily Foster of Pleasant Plains, a communication disorders major, was recognized as the 2019 Chancellor's Scholar for having the highest GPA (4.0) in the college.

Foster and two additional students – Kailey Whitson of Maumelle and Madison Shelton of Paragould -- received the 4.0 Graduate Award for having a perfect GPA. When there is a tie, the Chancellor's Scholar is the student with the most credit hours.

Outstanding students were selected by faculty in the individual degree programs to receive the awards for achievement, leadership and service to their respective departments and degree programs, both in the classroom and in the clinical experience. In addition to those listed here, numerous others were recognized for scholarly achievement in their respective academic programs.

Among those recognized and their degree programs were (grouped by academic department):

School of Nursing

Award winners in the School of Nursing were: Nancy Baltz of Pocahontas, Doctor of Nursing Practice; Chelsea Jones of Paragould, MSN, adult/gerontology CNS nursing; Jeremy Lawson of Wardell, Mo., MSN, family nurse practitioner; John Rutter of Batesville, MSN, nurse anesthesia; Brooks Propst of Dexter, Mo., BSN, nursing; and Candice Tansil of Jonesboro, Tyler Love of Beebe (traditional), Rachel Allison of Beebe (LPN to RN), Robert Lee of Mountain Home, Oliver Tucker of West Memphis (traditional), and Jacklyn Marrow of West Memphis (LPN to RN), Associate in Applied Science, nursing.

Dept. of Clinical Laboratory Sciences

Award winners in the Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences and their respective degree programs were: Claire Howard of Gosnell, BS, clinical laboratory science, and Stacey Barber of Wilson, AAS, clinical laboratory science.

Dept. of Communication Disorders

In the Department of Communication Disorders, the top students and their respective degree programs were John Chunn of Sherwood, BS, communication disorders, and Tassie Murphree of Jonesboro, Master of Communication Disorders (MCD).

Dept. of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences

The students recognized in the Department of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences included Mallory Warrington of Lake St. Louis, Mo., BSRS, bachelor of science in radiologic sciences; Logan Snyder of Marble Falls, BSRS, radiation

therapy; Jennifer Ifland of Portageville, Mo., BSRS, cardiovascular intervention; Chandler Boykin of Collierville, Tenn., BSRS, medical imaging informatics; Brooke Baker of Fisk, Mo., BSRS, magnetic resonance imaging; and Savannah Castle of Marion, BSRS, mammography.

Dept. of Physical Therapy

The Department of Physical Therapy recognized Joshua Greenwell of Oakley, Idaho, DPT, doctor of physical therapy; Jeff Creighton of Corona, Calif., AAS, physical therapist assistant (Jonesboro campus) and Miranda Clayton of Jonesboro (Mountain Home campus).

Dept. of Occupational Therapy

The Department of Occupational Therapy recognized Anthony Flanagan of Jonesboro, OTA, occupational therapy assistant.

Dept. of Social Work

The top award winners in the Department of Social Work were Carmen Cobbs of Bono, Bachelor of Social Work; and Tiffany Cloud of Blytheville, Master of Social Work.

Disaster Preparedness Program

In the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management program, award recipients included Nicole Velardi of Bethany, Conn., and Chong Shelton of Van Buren, MS, disaster preparedness and emergency management; Melissa Nichols of Mena, BS, disaster preparedness and emergency management; and Kathryn Williams of Vilonia, AAS, disaster preparedness and emergency management.

Health Studies Program

Jessica Carlile of Paragould was recognized as the most outstanding student in the BS in health studies program.

Nutritional Science/Dietetics Program

Madison Allred of Paragould, BS in dietetics, was the program award recipient.

###

This and other news releases also available at: AState.edu/news

University Communications Arkansas State University <u>news@astate.edu</u>

"Arkansas State University educates leaders, enhances intellectual growth and enriches lives."